The People Behind the Care

There are very important people working inside of each and every skilled nursing facility. The individuals celebrated here characterize the best of what being a caregiver in North Carolina is all about.

The NCHCFA Annual Awards program provides the opportunity to acknowledge front line unlicensed personnel who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in the long term care profession. The program honors individuals who are the backbone in our facilities because of the care they provide to residents. Each year an outstanding Nurse Aide is recognized from each of NCHCFA’s five districts.  Of the five Nurse Aide winners, one individual is recognized as the J.R. Garrett Direct Care Worker of the Year Award for the exceptional service they provide to North Carolina’s long term care residents. In addition, one recipient in a non-nursing discipline is recognized for the “Riley W. Clapp Outstanding Service” award. Each of the award recipients are honored at the Annual Awards Gala during the Annual Convention & Expo. Individuals are nominated by their colleagues for these special awards.

Watch NCHCFA’s 2019 Annual Award Winners in Action!

These videos were produced for the 2019 Annual Awards Gala held on Monday, February 25th during the Annual Convention & Expo held in Greensboro, NC.

Stephanie Underwood, District I Nurse Aide of the Year

Patricia Cunningham, District II Nurse Aide of the Year

Deborah Moore, District III Nurse Aide of the Year

Tiffany Brown, District IV Nurse Aide of the Year

Debra Flythe, District V Nurse Aide of the Year & J.R. Garrett Direct Care Worker of the Year

Tommy Johnson, Riley W. Clapp Outstanding Service Recipient

2019 J.R. Garrett Direct Care Worker of the Year

Stephanie Underwood
Pisgah Manor Health Care Center

2019 Annual Award Winner Biographies

Previous Annual Award Winners