NCHCFA Annual Awards Program

Without question, exceptional people work inside every skilled nursing facility. To celebrate these individuals, NCHCFA developed an annual awards program to acknowledge front-line unlicensed personnel who have exemplified outstanding achievements in the long-term care profession. Winners are honored at the Annual Awards Gala during the Annual Convention & Expo. Individuals are nominated by their colleagues for these special awards.

NCHCFA Nurse Aide of the Year 
Selected from each of North Carolina’s five geographic districts, the Nurse Aide of the Year is nominated for demonstrating outstanding care to their residents.

J.R. Garrett Direct Care Worker of the Year Award
Of the five Nurse Aide of the Year winners, one individual is further recognized as the J.R. Garrett Direct Care Worker of the Year Award for the exceptional service they provide to North Carolina’s long-term care residents.

Riley W. Clapp Outstanding Service Award
One recipient is selected from a non-nursing discipline to be recognized as the Riley W. Clapp Outstanding Service Award winner.

2022 Awards
The NCHCFA Education and Programs Committee has decided to change the way we honor our frontline healthcare workers in 2022. Instead of asking our members to nominate one staff member from their facility for the 2022 NCHCFA Awards Program and only selecting six winners, NCHCFA would like to express our appreciation and gratitude to all of our frontline healthcare heroes for their courage, perseverance, and dedication.  In January, each member facility received a plaque honoring their employee’s dedication throughout the pandemic.

2021 NCHCFA Award winners will be recognized during our in-person Awards Banquet at the 2022 NCHCFA Annual Convention & Expo. NCHCFA will resume our usual awards program for the calendar year 2023, which will open for nominees in the fall of 2022 for recognition at the 2023 Annual Convention & Expo.